CMI – Martti Ahtisaari Peace Foundation is a Finnish non-profit organisation, where the highest decision-making body is the Board of Directors. The Board ensures that the Foundation fulfils its purpose in its operations. The Board also supports and supervises the organisation and makes sure that the Foundation is managed appropriately and in accordance with applicable legislation and the Foundation’s by-laws. The Board is also responsible for ensuring that the accounting and financial oversight of the Foundation is appropriately organised.

The Board is led by the Chair, Vice-Chair and six other members.

CMI’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO), appointed by the Board, is responsible for the overall leadership and day-to-day management of the Foundation, the execution of CMI’s mission and the implementation of CMI’s strategy. The Leadership Team (LT) and the Deputy CEO support the CEO in the management of the organisation and institutional decision-making.



CMI’s Leadership Team


Janne Taalas

Chief Executive Officer


Hanna Klinge

Deputy CEO

LinkedIn profile

Ville Brummer

Chief Programme Officer



CMI’s Board

Alexander Stubb

Chair of the Board

Kari Lautjärvi
Kai Sauer
Under-Secretary of State, Foreign and Security Policy, Finnish MFA
Aleksi Neuvonen
Research Director, Demos
Veera Heinonen
Director, Democracy and Participation, Finnish Innovation Fund Sitra
Christoph Vitzthum
President and CEO of Fazer Group
Marko Ahtisaari
Artistic Director, Helsinki Festival